Community Foundation of Henderson County Celebrates Board Members and Announces Scholarship Recipie

Community Foundation of Henderson County Celebrates Board Members and Announces Scholarship Recipients

Hendersonville, N.C., June 7, 2019 – Community Foundation of Henderson County held the final board meeting of its fiscal year Wednesday, June 5, 2019.  Led by Chairperson Cindy Causby, the Foundation’s Board and professional team had an opportunity to celebrate five Board members as well as vote on awarding a total of $497,450 in new and renewable scholarships.
In a celebratory fashion the Foundation took the opportunity to recognize, Cindy Causby, Caroline Gunther, and David Marshall for perfect board meeting attendance this past fiscal year.  Additionally, there was an opportunity to reflect on the service of outgoing Board of Directors NC Senator Chuck Edwards and Shirley McGee.

Chuck Edwards joined Community Foundation of Henderson County’s Board of Directors in 2013 and  immediately became an active member serving on the Communications and Finance Committees.  Upon deciding to run for the North Carolina Senate, Edwards took a step back from actively participating in Foundation duties, though always being sure to stay well informed on current business.

Since 2010, Shirley McGee has been an engaged board member.  McGee has served on the Grants, Nominating, Recognition, and Executive Committees.   She chaired the Grants Committee from 2012 – 2016, has chaired the Recognition Committee since 2014 and is the Foundations outgoing Secretary, a position she’s held since 2016.    Shirley took a moment to reflect on her nine years of board service, “I’ve made a lot of great friends during my service and am thankful for each and everyone of you for caring about Henderson County and the people of Henderson County.”

Beginning in 1984 CFHC’s Scholarship Program has awarded more than $6.5 million to more than 1,300 students.  For the 2019 – 2020 academic year the Foundation awarded a total of $497,450 to help advance local students’  higher educational aspirations.  The Scholarship Committee, chaired by Kevin Parries, dedicates a significant amount of time to help promote the program, screen & interview applicants and then making award reccomendations to the Board. 

This year the Foundation awarded 95 students 100 new scholarships totaling $183,050  and 129 scholarship renewals totaling $314,400.   
2019-2020 New Scholarship Awards
Student Name Fund Name
Colton Acosta William C. Armstrong
Gustavo Andrade-Alanis Kermit Edney   
Sage Albert Business & Professional Woman's Club
Sadie Allen James P. Grey
Alexander Andersen Matching Scholarship 
Alexander Anderson Alice Lawson Memorial
Caitlin Bell Bree Elizabeth Miller Memorial   
Tucker Blynt Thomas Oliver & Louise Jordan Mulcahy 
Kennedy Boline Francis H. and Margery T. Escott
Alexa  Brooks Stillman Valley High
Michael  Byrd Nagel Scholarship
Taylor Burnett Clyde T. and Wilma G. Moore
Sally Campbell Helga Nielsen
Jordan Chambliss Donald D. and Joan B. Joyce
Jordan Chambliss Andrea Davies Skillman
Joshua Cloer Helen Lindner
Erika Raechel Collado Katharine Schneider Gettman
Kaitlyn Collins H. Louise Eaton   
Kaitlyn Collins Glenn C. Marlow 
Amber Culleton Ralph A. Milliman 
Natalee Davis Fredrick E. Meyer 
Malia Easler Tracy Grove Community Club   
Avia Easler Tracy Grove Community Club   
Serena Eaton James P. Grey
Keegan Edge Thomas Oliver & Louise Jordan Mulcahy 
Sarah Erwin Rita & Ray V. Dunk: Accounting
Ashlynn Fortin Hilary G. Neighbors (MEDICAL)
Sarah Freeman Arthur & Lois Jean Stuenkel   
Maya Gash Odell Rouse Memorial   
Madelyn Gilbert Winifred M. Wyman Memorial   
Ryan Good Thomas Oliver & Louise Jordan Mulcahy 
Carle Greedy Sam A. Mills Memorial   
Jonathan Gregoire George & Helen Stowell (GENERAL)
Chloe Hallman T. Llyle and Marion S. Keith   
Tasha Hartzfeld Bright Futures
Kaleigh Hellman Thomas Oliver & Louise Jordan Mulcahy 
Brian Hickling Mary Evelyn & Harry Laurent   
Justin Huneycutt Toby L. Mapes: Fire Protection Technology
Emily Hutchinson Maria's
Austin Jackson John P. and Mary Ann Wold Scholarship Fund
Jordan Jakubielski Vina L. & Richard C. Sauer 
Hillary Kim Robert C. Edwards, Jr. Memorial 
Kathryn King Maude and Harvey Goehring
Kathryn King Mary Evelyn & Harry Laurent   
Michaela Kolarova Russell Boyd Thomas
Michaela Kolarova George & Helen Stowell (MEDICAL)
Eliana Kotsias Grace B. Etheredge  BRCC
Sierra Lindsey Chat Jones Memorial
Samuel Littauer Vina L. & Richard C. Sauer 
Lyndsey Livingston Mills River Fire & Rescue
Alondra Lopez-Vargas John P. and Mary Ann Wold Scholarship Fund
Jessica Luecke American Legion, Post 77, Hubert M. Smith
Hannah Lunsford Ethel T. and Charles T. Larus
Gloria Mata Haddy Harrington Memorial   
Curtis Mathews Joe T. Hunt Memorial   
Ethan Maupin John Brooks Williams Memorial 
Georgia McCullough Arthur R. Hill Memorial 
Airianna Mejia Thomas E. and Marian L. Overby 
Jordan Moreno Plato E. Reese Memorial   
Elizabeth Morgan Dr. Hugh and Madge Gleaton
Logan Murphy Helen Lindner
Grace Neve Kenneth R. Stull and Virginia M. Stull
Parker Newman Dan Barber, III/Western Auto Award
Jennifer Nieto Duane M. and Margaret D. McKibbin Fund
Aryana Norris Lucile V. Means   
Bryanna Pendley Grace B. Etheredge  
Caleb Penner Passage to the Future Scholarship Fund
Eduardo Perez-Ibarra John P. and Mary Ann Wold Scholarship Fund
Julia Perrota Denis Barton
Clark Phipps Phyllis and George Knopf 
Ruth Portela John P. and Mary Ann Wold Scholarship Fund
Travis Pressley Ethel T. and Charles T. Larus
Miranda Ramsey Jenice Schlein Denning
Cecilia Rasco Betsy Copolillo and Sam Gash   
Cecilia Rasco David and Betty Bucher Engineering
Jose Rodriguez Charlie Renfrow Trust   
Marco Rojas Ethel T. and Charles T. Larus
Mia Salvaggio Mary Evelyn & Harry Laurent   
Jenny Sanders Pisgah Chapter Trout-William L. Arbuckle
Lisa Scarduzio Matching Scholarship 
Justin Schedivy James Smith Memorial   
Kyla Sharp Vena Case Robinson Memorial   
Caroline Shealy Dr. Corbin O. Williams Memorial   
Zoe Shields Robert & Vivian Edwards   
Rileigh Shiver Eleanor M. Kutchoodon
Claire Shrader Rebecca S. Poole   
Karli Simon Henderson County Educational   
Shannon Smith Gregory Stephen Wright "Crossroads"
Ashlie Steppe L.B. Prince Memorial   
Shylee Stocks Jane & Tom Davis   
Hunter Street Helga Nielsen
Elijah Sutton Lula & Levi Wilson 
Tyra Syverson Anthony Kushigian (Normac)
Christopher Tavernier Rita & Ray Dunk: Piano & Performance
Makala Trantham Ethel T. and Charles T. Larus
McKenzie Trantham Hilary G. Neighbors (GENERAL)  
Chadwick Veach John Brooks Williams Memorial 
Madylin Vess David and Betty Bucher Nursing
Emily Williams Elsie Mabel Jones   
Hannah Worrell Jan F. & Harry J. Nolan Women's Educational
Mandolyn Youngblood Robert B. Tonjes
Community Foundation scholarships are open to students pursuing community college, college or university degrees.  Scholarships are primarily for students graduating or who have graduated from public high schools, home schools and private schools in Henderson County, N.C.  In addition selective scholarships are also available for students and non-traditional students in Transylvania, Jackson and Polk Counties.  Criteria and award amounts for scholarships vary.  Generally, the scholarships are categorized by financial need, academic achievement, affiliation and field or place of study. 

Available scholarships open in the fall each year. 

Since 1982, the Community Foundation of Henderson County has been helping people transform their philanthropic dreams into reality.  Donors can make lasting contributions to causes close to their heart through a variety of giving methods.  Learn more about the Community Foundation of Henderson at, on the Foundation’s Facebook page, or by calling (828) 697-6224.