Duplin Foundation for Youth Advancement awards more than $48,000 in local grants

Duplin Foundation for Youth Advancement awards more than $48,000 in local grants


The board of advisors of the Duplin Foundation for Youth Advancement recently announced $48,283 in local grant awards from the community grantmaking fund, according to Bob Kornegay, board president.


This year the board granted:

  • $1,500 to the Wallace Police Department for the PD with the Pups program

  • $2,500 to the Town of Faison Recreation and Wellness Center for the Sports equal Health equals Safety program

  • $5,000 to the Duplin County Sheriff’s Office for the DARE Program

  • $3,000 to Beulaville Elementary GOTR/STRIDE for general operating support

  • $5,000 to Duplin Christian Outreach Ministries for the Feed Our Hungry Children and Backpack Ministry programs

  • $4,913 to Friends of the Wallace Parks for the Music in the Park program

  • $3,500 to James Sprunt Community College for the Spartan Hour program

  • $5,000 to Diversity Nurtures Achievement Community Youth Center for the DNA Afterschool Enrichment program

  • $5,000 to Kenansville Eastern Missionary Baptist Association (KEMBA) for the Youth Day Series program

  • $3,000 to Cultivating Stalk & STEM for the STEAM Enrichment program

  • $4,978 to the Meditation Center of Eastern Carolina- Duplin for the Duplin County Teen Court and Youth Enrichment program

  • $4, 892 to the Thelma Dingus Bryant Library for the Parade of Pages program

Kornegay thanked the community for its support of the Duplin Foundation for Youth Advancement. “We are proud to support these nonprofit programs that are so vital to the youth in our community,” he said. “We are grateful to the many generous individuals and organizations that have supported the Duplin County Community Foundation and our work to inspire philanthropy across our community.”
For further information, contact NCCF Regional Director Anne Sorhagen at 919-202-6727 or asorhagen@nccommunityfoundation.org.
About the Duplin County Community Foundation
The Duplin County Community Foundation was founded in 2005 and is an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation. DCCF is led by a local volunteer advisory board that helps build community assets through the creation of permanent endowments, makes grants and leverages leadership – all for the benefit of the Haywood County. In addition to Kornegay, board members include: Debra Morrisey (vice-chair), Jayme Jones (treasurer), Brittainy Kidlow (secretary), Florence Webb-Becton, Wayne Branch, Kimberly Butler, Francisco Dias, Ed Emory, Nancy Jordan, Todd Minchew and Linda Smith. 
Tax-deductible contributions, made payable to the Duplin County Community Foundation, can be mailed to the North Carolina Community Foundation, 3737 Glenwood Ave. Suite 460, Raleigh, NC 27612. Contributions can also be made online at nccommunityfoundation.org.
For further information, contact NCCF Regional Director Anne Sorhagen at 910-202-6727 or asorhagen@nccommunityfoundation.org or visit the NCCF website at nccommunityfoundation.org.
About the North Carolina Community Foundation
The NCCF is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has administered more than $145 million in grants since its inception in 1988. With more than $270 million in assets, NCCF sustains 1,300 endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships. The NCCF partners with a network of affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance across the state. An important component of NCCF’s mission is to ensure that rural philanthropy has a voice at local, regional and national levels.
For more information, visit nccommunityfoundation.org, like us on Facebook and follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter @NCCF.