Johnston County Community Foundation accepting nominations for Frances Finch Hobart Award for Volunt

Johnston County Community Foundation accepting nominations for Frances Finch Hobart Award for Volunteer Community Service

The Johnston County Community Foundation board of advisors is accepting nominations for the 2019 Frances Finch Hobart Award for Volunteer Community Service.
This marks the 14th year in which a Johnston County resident is recognized for outstanding community service. The winner of the award will be asked to designate a local nonprofit organization to receive a $1,500 grant.

The Frances Finch Hobart Award for Volunteer Community Service is a fund of the Johnston County Community Foundation. The award seeks to recognize an individual who possesses the ability to help others solve social problems through time, talent and energy by mobilizing volunteers and displaying a willingness for ongoing involvement. The recipient should demonstrate vision, vitality, determination, selflessness, generosity and a caring heart.

Previous recipients include Dr. Carolyn Ennis, Anita Liverman, Anesha Johnson, Norwood Williams, Tom Ricks, Nikki Dyke, Evelyn Aranda, Don Stephenson, Cornell Cox, Sarah Yard, Linwood Byrd, Noela Woodall and Ramona Cash.

Nomination forms are available at and will be accepted until July 1. Nominees from the previous year who did not receive the annual award will automatically be included as a new nominee in the current year’s process. For further information, contact NCCF Grants Program Manager Christopher Fipps at 919-256-6923 or

About the Johnston County Community Foundation
An affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation, the Johnston County Community Foundation is a growing family of philanthropic funds, source of grants for local causes and partners for donors. The JCCF was founded in 1992 and is led by a local volunteer advisory board that helps build community assets through the creation of permanent endowments, makes grants and leverages leadership—all for the benefit of Johnston County.

The JCCF board advises the Johnston County Community Fund, the unrestricted community grantmaking fund, to support local needs. The competitive grants program is held annually. Advisory board members live and work in Johnston County, putting them in a position to strategically leverage resources, meet local needs and access opportunities. In addition to Faber, board members include: Oliver Johnson (vice president), Emery Ashley, Wanda Blow, Don Boyette, Kevin Boyette, Gwen Canady, Lorine Davis, Margaret DiNublia, Bill Galloway, John Hobart, Robin Little, Laurie Partlo, Maritza Rosado, Betsy Whittington and James Wilson.

The JCCF, through the NCCF, makes it easy to become a philanthropist, whatever your means or charitable goals. You can open an endowment for your favorite cause at any time – or contribute to an existing fund in any amount. Tax-deductible contributions, made payable to the Johnston County Community Foundation, can be mailed to the North Carolina Community Foundation, 3737 Glenwood Ave. Suite 460, Raleigh, NC 27612. Contributions can also be made online at

About the North Carolina Community Foundation
The NCCF is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has administered more than $145 million in grants since its inception in 1988. With more than $270 million in assets, NCCF sustains 1,300 endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships. The NCCF partners with a network of affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance across the state. An important component of NCCF’s mission is to ensure that rural philanthropy has a voice at local, regional and national levels. For more information, visit